Remembering September 11, 2001

american-flag-1208660

Every year around this time of year, my heart feels heavy. I was in the third grade when this terrible attack took place. At first, I didn’t know what was going on. My school principal had placed our school on lock down and she sounded scared on the intercom so I knew something bad had happened. When I got home from school, my mom was in tears. She explained to me that my older cousin had an internship at a law office in one of the towers and that she couldn’t get a hold of my family in New York. I remember being scared and hearing fighter jets fly over the area all afternoon (we live in a large military area). Finally, my mom got a hold of my aunt and found out that my cousin had called out sick that day from work. It saved her life. A month later, we drove to New York for our annual family visit. In addition to the usual apple picking and visiting local landmarks, mom took us to pay our respects. I remember a chain link fence had been built. On the fence, were pictures of missing people. I remember the metal cross that sat in the center of the ground zero. Most of the rubble had been cleaned up by then. I remember my aunt and cousin having walk away and finding my aunt sobbing on a bench a few blocks away. To this day, I still look for the twin towers as we fly into the city. I still feel a  tinge of sadness when I don’t see them towering over the skyline. I also often think about the Pentagon (living only a few hours from it) and the heroic efforts of the passengers on Flight 93. While I move on with my life, I still stop to remember. I pray for everyone- the families of the victims, the victims, the mean men who did this, and the soldiers who went to fight after this.It’s hard to believe that it’s been fifteen years since that day. It seems like it was just yesterday. The years flew by. Do you remember September 11,2001?

Leave a Reply

